Postholer.Com

A Place to discuss hiking along your favorite trail
Home Journals Maps Planner Postholer

Poll: Postholer Mailing List?

Use this forum for anything related to the site that may not fit in the Journal, Maps, etc., forum.

Moderator: postholer

Should Postholer.Com start a mailing list?

Yes, most definitely!
88%
No, the PCT-L down time is ok.
13%

Total votes : 8

Postby postholer » Wed May 07, 2008 7:49 am

How many of you would like to see a mailing list here at postholer?

I've intentionally avoided having one as not to step on the PCT-L toes. It's a fantastic list with a great history.

The recent problems with the PCT-L of downtime and re-registration has become annoying for all of us. So the question:

Should Postholer.Com start a mailing list?
postholer
Site Admin

Postby Ellie » Wed May 07, 2008 11:04 am

Just my two cents...

I'm not technically savvy, so I may be missing something, but the PCT-L list is a little aggravating b/c many people just reply, and it seems I spend a LOT of time just scrolling through duplication of previous posts. I also rather randomly receive the list.

On a side note, what are the advantages of the PCT-L list to forums, other than being able to read it on my PDA via e-mail without having to log in to a forum? For me the postholer forums are much easier to read and a better way to communicate information. They are pretty slow right now, but with the increase in posters this year, I imagine it is only a matter of time before the traffic in the forums increases also.

I much prefer forums to the PCT-L list. My opinion is that another list is not needed, most of those on the PCT-L list would probably just remain on the one list, postholer forums are much more convenient, and in time the forum traffic will increase. I try to stay away from lists b/c they just clog up my e-mail.
Ellie

Postby treeWoof » Thu May 08, 2008 10:05 am